British Violin Sonatas

British Violin Sonatas


Clare Howick violin
Simon Callaghan piano

William Walton — Sonata for Violin and Piano
William Alywn — Sonatina for Violin and Piano
Gordon Jacob — Elegy *
Gordon Jacob — Caprice *
Gordon Jacob — Little Dancer (for Frederick Grinke) *
Kenneth Leighton — Sonata for Violin and Piano No.1 (to Christopher Strode)
Alan Rawsthorne — Pierette: Valse Caprice
Lennox Berkeley — Elegy, op.33, no.2
Lennox Berkeley — Toccata, op.33, no.3 (for Frederick Grinke)

*  first recordings

SOMM Recordings pays tribute to the remarkable flourishing of British Violin Sonatas in the 20th century with a collection of music for violin and piano by six key figures of the modern chamber music renaissance in Britain.

Making her debut on SOMM, violinist Clare Howick’s championing of this repertoire prompted iclassical to declare “the record-buying public owe [her] a debt of gratitude”. She is accompanied by pianist Simon Callaghan.