Vivat Brahms! Volume I

Vivat Brahms! Volume I


James Barralet (cello) and Simon Callaghan (piano)

World premiere recordings of Brahms’s Hungarian Dances in arrangements by James Barralet for cello and piano

  • Brahms: Sonata in E minor Op.38
  • Brahms: 21 Hungarian Dances (arr. Barralet)


“What passionate and spontaneous cello playing…the piano playing is thrilling”
Shunsuke Fujino, Record Geijutsu (Japan) December 2013

“Barralet and Callaghan have a well balanced partnership… the two young players bring a nice freshness to the music.”
Robert Hugill, June 2013

[Launch concert] “As always, Callaghan made light of the difficulties of Brahms’ piano writing and achieved perfect balance effortlessly.
Peter Graham Woolf, musical pointers June 2013